KTI Impact Awards 2016

About the awards 

The KTI Impact Awards recognise and showcase the success in knowledge transfer carried out in Irish Higher Education Institutes and publicly funded research organisations for the wider benefit of the economy and society.  

Across six categories, the awards recognise top performance in industry engagement and commercialisation of research and pay tribute to the businesses and research performing organisations involved in this knowledge transfer.  

The awards also acknowledge and celebrate the technology transfer offices, industry liaison offices and their staff who make this happen.

Awards Ceremony

Finalists will be shortlisted in each category with the winners being announced on Thursday 23rd June at the KTI Impact Awards Ceremony to be held at the Royal Hospital Kilmainham, Dublin 8.  

For more information on those shortlisted for an award, please see our list of Finalists 2016.

Award Categories 

The six awards categories are outlined below.  

  1. Research2Business Collaborative Impact Award   
  2. Consultancy Impact Award 
  3. Licence2Market Impact Award
  4. Spinout Company Impact Award (this category has been split into - Spin-out Company and Mature Spin-out Company)
  5. Knowledge Transfer Initiative of the Year Award
  6. Knowledge Transfer Achiever of the Year Award 

Judging process

The judging panel comprises experts in the field of knowledge transfer from academia and industry.  The panel is chaired by Alison Campbell, Director of Knowledge Transfer Ireland.  Once the closing date for submissions has passed, each judge will be provided with a copy of the submissions within each awards category for review in line with judging notes that will be provided.  The judging panel will then meet to review all submissions and will decide upon a shortlist of applicants within each category, as appropriate. 

The panel in 2016 includes: 

 IRL         Mark Gantly, Managing Director, Hewlett Packard Enterprise, Galway

 SE           Ursula Hass, Chair of Swedish Network for Innovation and Technology Transfer Support; Associate Professor at Linkoping University; CEO Padme AB.

 IRL         Nicki O’Connor, Research & Innovation Policy Manager, Higher Education Authority                     

 IRL         Bill Kearney, Vice President Ireland Lab and Dublin Campus, IBM Analytics Group

 UK          David Owen, Chair of the Life Sciences Bridging Fund, Wales.

 NL          Koen Verhoef, Head of the Technology Transfer Office, Netherlands Cancer Institute

 US          David Winwood, Associate Executive Director for Business Development, Pennington Biomedical Research Center.

Shortlisted Nominees and Winners  

Shortlisted nominees will be informed in advance of the awards with the winners being announced on 23rd June 2016 at the KTI Flagship Awards Event.

Key dates for the KTI Impact Awards 2016:

Call for Submissions

Wednesday 16th March

Submission Deadline

Friday 29th April

Shortlisted applicants announced

Monday 30th May

Awards Presentation

Thursday 23rd June